

TSS In the Dark – 2009 Final Round

Teesside Autodrome Saturday 24th October



The final round of the 2009 Toyota Sprint Series was held at Teesside Autodrome, and with an extra twist, all 'timed' runs were to be set in the dark.

Teesside is a technical circuit, both twisty and three dimensional, the hill section and flat out corners were set to test both chassis setup and driver skill.

Sighting and practise laps were run in the daylight, to give newcomers the chance to familiarise themselves with the layout.

The event was expertly organised by track day organisers Javelin, with support from Blitz-UK, Millers oils, Fensport and the GT4 Owners Club.

Being October weather expectations were not high; despite the cold and a few showers whilst the competitors were setting up, the rain virtually stopped by the time the runs started and the track was in good condition.

At approximately 6pm, the first timed runs began. Some Drivers were flat out from the start! Championships and class battles were to be decided! Most classes did not have a clear championship winner, so times at Teesside were very important. After each run, drivers were looking eagerly for their times, and thinking how to shave those extra tenths off. Most drivers' best runs were achieved during the last three runs of the night, either the track got faster, or the drivers just got braver!



Class F (1.0I)

Paul Thomas' (above left) time of 60.42 with the Aygo secured another first place win. Jane Newsome (above right) and her Vitz were runner up with a time of 61.44. Both winner and runner up achieved their winning times on their final runs



Class D (under 1600cc na)

Once again, David Brooks (above left) set the pace in his Starlet rwd and achieved first place in class, with his time of 53.29. A stunning time considering the car has only 140bhp and he secured 5th overall on the day, another display of excellent driving. Barry Cross (above right) has been improving his times all year and was runner up, with a time of 58.24 set in his Yaris T sport.



Class C (over 1600cc na)

Jeff Lotts (above left) demonstrated his ability to get the best from his Celica, securing the class win with a time of 55.28. Crag Storey (above right) was a well deserved runner up with a time of 56.37 set in his Celica.



Class B (Under 1600cc forced induction)

A large battle was taking place, not only for the fastest time on the day, but overall championship standings between Barrie Newsome (above left) in his Starlet and Phil Cutler (above right) in his Supercharged Mk1 MR2. On run 7, Barrie set an amazing time of 53.46, securing him 1st place in class, Phil took the runner up spot, with his time of 54.49 set also set on his last run.



Class A2 (over 1600cc forced induction, limited modifications)

Otis Hayes (above left) was proving an unstoppable force with his Celica GT4, and secured fist in class as well as 3rd overall, with his time of 50.95. Chris Cooke (above right) in his MR2 turbo produced another great drive to take runner up and 4^{th} overall with his time of 52.27.



Class A1 (Over 1600cc forced induction)

The battle for first place, and championship standings was between two entrants, Jonny Milner (above left) in his Celica GT4 and Adrian Smith (above right) in his Corolla GT4On the 1st run, they were separated by only 2 tenths, But it was Jonny that pulled out the lead setting a time of 48.37s, and taking the lap record on his way to 1st Overall. Adrian tried but had no answer; his best time of 49.58 secured him 2nd Overall.



Hard Charger

Diane Turner was awarded the hard charger award for coming 9th overall in her A2 class Celica, with a time of 53.91.

Results:

- 1st Overall; Jonny Milner, Celica GT4
- 2nd Overall; Adrian Smith, Corolla GT4 3rd Overall; Otis Hayes, Celica GT4
- Class A1 Winner; Jonny Milner, Celica GT4
- Class A1 Runner up; Adrian Smith, Corolla GT4
- Class A2 Winner; Otis Hayes, Celica GT4
- Class A2 Runner up; Chris Cooke, MR2 Turbo
- Class B Winner; Barrie Newsome, Starlet Turbo
- Class B Runner up; Phil Cutler, Mr2 Mk1 Supercharger
- Class C Winner; Jeff Lotts, Celica ST202
- Class C Runner up, Craig Storey, Celica ST182 •
- Class D Winner; David Brooks, RWD Starlet 4AGE
- Class D Runner up; Barry Cross, Yaris T Sport
- Class F Winner; Paul Thomas, Aygo 1.0
- Class F Runner up; Jane Newsome, Vitz 1.0
- Hard Charger award : Diane Turner Celica GT4
- Fastest female; Diane Turner Celica GT4

Full Results can be found at

http://twistysprint.com/sprint/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=7&Itemid=15









We would like to thank Javelin Trackdays for their professionalism and smooth operation of the day. Also thank you to all our sponsors for making the championship a reality.

An overall 2009 championship report will follow shortly.

MR2's, Celica's, Supra's, Lexus, Corolla's, Auris, Starlets, Sera......If you like Motorsport and Toyota's then the Toyota Sprint Series is the place to be....2010 Championship coming soon!!

Many pictures from the event can be found at

http://www.racingexposure.com/tss/2009/r6/

For General information on the sprint series please visit

http://www.toyota-sprint-series.com/forums/index.php

Report by Vykki Hoult

A huge Thank you to our Sponsors

2009 Toyota Sprint Series is sponsored by







